

Regional Board Meeting Minutes

July 17, 2023

Board President, Ruth O'Loughlin, called the Southeast Arkansas Regional Library Board meeting to order at 10:32 am. Those in attendance & via zoom were board members Larry Alexander, Myra Cingolani, Sandra Crofford, Dinah Cox, Cristy Dunnahoe, Kim Forrest, Mack Jewel Grant, Dianna Harmon, Gaynell Jamison, Cliff Morgan, Ruth O'Loughlin, Diane Parnell, Reathel Privett, Elgenia Ross, Vickie Ross, Cindy Smith, Vertie Staples, Nancy Vitittow, Vern Wilson, and Regional Director, Judy Calhoun. Visitors included: Roger Davis & Jennifer Knight.

New Desha County Board Members, Myra Cingolani and Larry Alexander were welcomed to the board. A motion to amend the agenda to include a policy revision and public comment was made by Gaynell Jamison and seconded by Sandra Crofford. Minutes of the April meeting were under review. Cristy Dunnahoe made the motion to accept the minutes as presented , seconded by Larry Alexander, motion passed. The financial report was presented in printed form. It was noted that the insurance for the new vehicle was higher and that line item would need to be adjusted in next year's budget. Sandra Crofford made the motion to approve the report, Diane Parnell gave the second and the motion was approved.

Director's Report:

The Director reported on the Spring Workshop held for Branch Managers and Library Assistants, Summer Reading Programs, author signings and attendance at the Texas Library Association Conference.

Committee Report:

The Branch Improvement Committee report included updates on the new back door at the Dermott Branch Library and security cameras at the Lake Village and Warren Libraries. An outside storage unit was purchased for the McGehee Branch Library.

Old Business:

There was no Old Business.

New Business:

The Director was notified by Simmons Bank that a \$10.00 per month fee would be charge for inactive accounts. The Chester Johnson account at Simmons is a restricted account of the Monticello Branch. The Director suggested closing the account and adding it as a line item to the capital outlay account. Sandra Crofford made the motion to close the Simmons account and move the funds. Second was given by Dianna Harmon, motion passed.

The new finance committee needed to be formed. Dinah Cox made a motion to accept the Finance Committee as follows: Ruth O'Loughlin, Dinah Cox, Vicki Ross, Diane Parnell, and Cristy Dunnahoe. Sandra Crofford made the second and the motion passed.

The Director presented a policy revision to the "Reconsideration and Challenges of Library Materials." The revised policy addresses the changes to Arkansas law Act 372 for challenged materials. No action was taken at this time.

Public Comment:

Lake Village resident, Roger Davis requested time to speak to the board. Mr. Davis read a letter he sent to the board president stating his concerns over financial matters. Board President, Ruth O'Loughlin, informed Mr. Davis that his letter would be taken under advisement and he would receive an answer within 5 to 10 business days.

The next Regional Board meeting will be held on October 16, 2023 in Drew County. A letter will be sent after the details have been arranged. Cristy Dunnahoe made the motion to adjourn, seconded by Dianna Harmon and the meeting was adjourned.